2014 Best Hyatt Hotel Redemptions: Category 1 – 7

Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

On January 7, 2014 Hyatt devalued it’s Gold Passport program. In addition to adding a new Category 7 and moving several prominent hotels up, redemption levels for Category 5 and 6 properties were increased by 2,000 and 3,000 points respectively. Redemption levels for Category 1-4 remained the same, though a few properties have moved into different categories.

Hyatt Gold Passport Category 1

The Best redemptions for Category 1 remain almost exactly the same. The only difference is that the Hyatt Regency Taba Heights is no longer being managed by Hyatt and as a result, there are no Category 1 properties left in Europe, Africa, or the Middle East. The remaining properties (Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Hyatt Regency Merida, Hyatt Regency Kathmandu) as well as the “honorable mentions” still offer excellent value for just 5,000 points per night.

Hyatt Gold Passport Category 2

Not much has changed for Category 2 Redemptions either, with nearly all of the properties still maintaining their ranking on the list. The only exception is the Hyatt Regency Jakarta, which has been bumped down to an “honorable mention” in favor of the Hyatt Regency Incheon, which was previously a Category 3 hotel.

Hyatt Gold Passport Category 3

The departure of the Hyatt Regency Incheon bumped the Hyatt Regency Danang Resort and Spa to the top Category 3 Redemption for Asia. The Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo, previously a Category 2 hotel, also takes the top spot for Category 3 redemptions in South America.

The next few posts will contain a list of best redemptions post-devaluation. I’ve set up a page with links to every Best Redemption series, which will be updated as new program changes are announced.

Hyatt Gold Passport Category 4

Not much has changed in Category 4. The Andaz West Hollywood, which moved up to a Category 5, has been replaced with the Hyatt Escala Lodge Park City. The Park Hyatt Melbourne was also bumped up on spot, with nothing worthwhile to replace it in the Pacific category.

Hyatt Gold Passport Category 5

The major changes in Category 5 is the increase in redemption rates from 18,000 points to 20,000 points per night. In addition, Hyatt 48 Lex has been replaced with the Andaz West Hollywood, after both properties were bumped up one category. The Hyatt Regency Maui was bumped down from Category 6 and thus made it onto the honorable mention list for the US.

The Park Hyatt Melbourne was bumped up from Category 4 and takes the top spot for the Pacific region.

Hyatt Gold Passport Category 6

Thanks to the addition of a new tier, Category 6 saw an increase from 22,000 points to 25,000 points per night. The Andaz Maui finally opened and replaced the Hyatt Regency Maui, which incidentally got bumped down to Category 5. Another new property is the Andaz Peninsula Papagayo, which took the top spot in the new subcategory, Central America.

The Park Hyatt Sydney has been removed as well, owing to its elevation to a Category 7 property. I recently stayed at this hotel and while the new redemption level of 30,000 points per night is steep, it’s still worth it. The Park Hyatt Sydney’s removal left the Pacific subcategory empty.

The lesser known Hyatt Paris Madeleine replaces the Park Hyatt Paris Vendome, which was bumped up to the newly created Category 7.

Hyatt Gold Passport Category 7

There are only six hotels in the newly created Category 7, which is a bit baffling. Why create a new category at all if you’re only going to include six hotels in it? In any case, pretty much every hotel is worthy of being branded the “best redemption,” and for the most part the list consists of properties that had previously taken the top spot in Category 6. The new list will be announced on Monday.

Subscribe via email for more points, miles and free travel

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Comment